44-D’s Twenty-five Days of Christmas Music Videos (Dec 2nd)

The Christmas Song Performed by Christina Aguilera

The Christmas Song” (1944), commonly referred to as “Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire“ or “Merry Christmas to You”, is a classic Christmas song, written by vocalist Mel Tormé and Bob Wells. According to Tormé, the song was written during a blistering hot summer. In an effort to “stay cool by thinking cool,” the most-performed (according to BMI) Christmas song was born.

I saw a spiral pad on his piano with four lines written in pencil,” Tormé recalled. “They started, ‘Chestnuts roasting … Jack Frost nipping … Yuletide carols … Folks dressed up like Eskimos.’ Bob (Wells, co-writer) didn’t think he was writing a song lyric. He said he thought if he could immerse himself in winter he could cool off. Forty minutes later that song was written. I wrote all the music and some of the lyrics.

Lyrics

Ooh, hmm, oh yeah
Chestnuts roasting on an open fire
Jack Frost nipping at your nose
Yuletide carols being sung by a choir
And folks dressed up like Eskimos

Everybody knows a turkey and some mistletoe
Will help to make the season bright
And tiny tots with their eyes all aglow
Will find it hard to sleep tonight, night

They know that Santa’s on his way
He’s loaded lots of toys and goodies on his sleigh
And every mother’s child is gonna spy
To see if reindeer really know how to fly

And so I’m offering this simple phrase
To kids from one to ninety-two, ooh yeah
Though its been said many times, many ways
Merry Christmas to you, ooh oh yeah, ooh oh yeah

They know that Santa’s on his way, he’s on his way
He’s loaded lots of toys and goodies on his sleigh
And every mother’s child is going to spy
To see if reindeer really know how to fly

And so I’m offering this simple phrase
To kids from one to ninety-two, yeah oh
Although its been said many times, many ways
Merry Christmas, yeah
Merry Christmas
Merry Christmas, oh
Oh yeah, oh yeah ooh
Oh yeah to you
(Hum, hum, hum…)
Merry Christmas…

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

12 Comments

Filed under Art, Christmas, Holidays, Music, Pop Culture, United States, Video/YouTube

12 responses to “44-D’s Twenty-five Days of Christmas Music Videos (Dec 2nd)

  1. audiegrl

    I have this CD, its really good. Love Christina’s voice… 😉

  2. SouthernGirl2

    Audie,

    I love hearing that song. It makes me have happy thoughts. Reminds me of Christmas long ago.

    • audiegrl

      Me too SG2, she has such a lovely voice too 🙂

      • ogenec

        {Ogenec clears throat} Who is that girl I see/Staring straight back at me/When will my reflection show/Who I am/Inside?

        Man, love me some Christina… That girl can sang! And I could lie and tell you that I bought Mulan for the kids. But it’s actually one of my favorite movies. 🙂

        • audiegrl

          ‘-) That’s my girl! When I first heard *Genie in a Bottle*, it was like listening to a younger version of Mariah. Her Christmas CD is amazing, I highly recommend it.

  3. SouthernGirl2

    Hey guys,

    My favorite christmas song by Christina Aguilera is Oh Holy Night. I can’t help from getting emotional when I hear that song. She has such a wonderful voice.

  4. SouthernGirl2

    Audie,

    How can I get an avatar? I’m not sure how to do it?

  5. SouthernGirl2

    Ogenec,

    I heard your singing. It was wonderful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

