It’s Veteran’s Day: Share Your Stories And Memories

veteransday2X
Veteran’s Day commemorates the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month of 1918, when an armistice signaling the end of World War I descended.

Please visit the official Veteran’s Day website for information on:

Attending the National Ceremony
Proclamation
Regional Observances

To honor our veterans, we want to hear your personal stories about those who have served in your family. You can submit your written story or photos in the comments section.

6 Comments

Filed under Army, Holidays, Marines, Middle East, Military, Navy, Reserve, Veterans, Veterans Day, War

6 responses to “It’s Veteran’s Day: Share Your Stories And Memories

  1. My grandfather:

    In memory of
    Private FRANCIS JOHN FURLONG

    who died on June 3, 1918
    WW1
    near Arras, France

    Force: Canadian Expeditionary Force
    Unit: Canadian Infantry (British Columbia Regiment, “Tobin’s Tigers”)
    Division: 29th Battalion.

    He left California, his job as a railroad engineer, his 5 year son and his wife in November 1917 to answer the call to duty in his native Canada (Newfoundland)
    He was killed in action 6 months later in the intense battles near the end of the war. One of nearly 10 million soldiers killed in WW1.

    Click here: null

    In Canada today is Remembrance Day:

  2. drtombibey

    Amen. I posted about this on my blog today.

    Dr. B

    Dr. B’s blog

  3. audiegrl

    redpoppy

    In loving memory of
    Leslie Paul Harris

    Born 1919
    Died April 4, 2004

    Force: Navy WWII

    My dad was part of the war effort in Northern Illinois, where he worked at a local foundry. After a few years, he was drafted into the segregated Navy, and set sail for Okinawa. By the time his ship got to Okinawa, the war was over. He returned home with photos, his rifle & knife, and a beautiful hand painted Japanese tea set and silk robe for my mother. I still have those things today.

    At home he became a member of the local American Legion Post, where he served as both Commander and Chaplin.

    Each year I make sure to buy a red poppy in his honor 🙂

  4. audiegrl

    negrowwisoldiersIn loving memory of
    Leslie (Buddy) Treadway

    Born 1895
    Died January 15, 1991

    Force: Army WW I

    My Uncle Buddy lived across the street from us from the time I was born, until he passed in 1991. Although he was in his 90’s he stayed sharp until the last few years, and he was strong as an ox.

    These are the stories he told me on his porch swing when I was a little girl. During World War I he was drafted into the Army some time in late 1917. His battalion was training really hard, and were especially excited that they were eventually going to get some guns to train with. At this time in military history, Negro troops were used primarily for manual labor and other non-combat tasks. Sometime during the summer of 1918, my uncle and another guy got sick. They were feverish and in really bad shape. They were not able to leave with the rest of their company, who then went on to fight in France. My uncle eventually got better, but his friend did not make it. Then my uncle found out that his whole battalion was killed fighting overseas. We know now that my uncle and his friend had been victims of the influenza pandemic that took the lives of an estimated 50 million people world wide.

    My uncle came to northern Illinois in the 1930’s as part of the great migration of African-Americans coming north to find factory jobs instead of staying in Mississippi as sharecroppers. He invited my dad to join him in 1941, and helped my dad find a job at the foundry where he worked. In 1942, my dad met my mom and they got married.

    So to make a long story short, if my Uncle Buddy had not caught the flu, then I probably would not be typing this story right now. 🙂

  5. buellboy

    black_koreaIn loving memory of
    Andrew Alexander Hicks

    Born 1928
    Died June 24, 2007

    Force: Army Korean War

    My Dad was a Private in the Korean War. He was just a young impressionable kid from St. Louis, MO, who was shipped off to Germany at the age of 19.

    He used to tell me about being on maneuvers in the German forests. On those exercises, Dad used to wonder out-loud… “if this the Korean War, why the hell are we in Germany?” LOL

    I think he figured out later, that they were there to keep an eye on Russia, which was a growing super-power in the Cold War.

    When he returned home, he became a life-long member of the American Legion, the Shriners, and the Masons. He retired from the U.S. Post Office after 32 years of service.

Leave a Reply

